Rare Black Moon solar eclipse takes a bite out of the sun over South America

Sky watchers in parts of the southern hemisphere today enjoyed the first partial eclipse of the year.

The April 30 partial solar eclipse, one of two to occur in 2022, swept across parts of South America, Antarctica, and the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. The solar eclipse began at 2:45 p.m. EDT (1845 GMT) in the far southeastern Pacific, near the coast of Antarctica. It lasted just under four hours and ended at 6:37 p.m. EDT (22:37 GMT) over the southern Atlantic Ocean, according to TimeandDate.com, though for many observers, the sun set while it was still partially eclipsed.

Add Comment